Spring 2008 Newsletter - Page 2

2008 Safe Homes, Safe Streets Reception

Picture of reception speakersThe Safe Homes, Safe Streets reception included comments from Sandy Barnett (not pictured) and pictured left (from left to right): Dorthy Stucky Halley, statewide victims rights coordinator with the Office of the Attorney General; Marlou Wegener, community relations manager with Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas; and Juliene Maska, administrator with the Federal and Other Grants Programs in the Office of the Governor. Both Stucky Halley and Maska are previous recipients of KCSDV's Advocate of the Year award, named in honor of Maska.

Honoring Advocates and Allies
During the Safe Homes, Safe Streets reception, KCSDV honored two advocates, one project and five allies for their work on behalf of victims. Recipients of the advocate of the year award were Lisa O'Dell-Davis and Laura Patzner. Recipient of the project of the year award was Advocates for Sexual Assault Prevention, a project of SAFEHOME, a KCSDV member program in Overland Park. Recipients of the ally of the year award were Shirley Adams; Wendy Blank; Tim O'Donnell; Joyce Vancrum; and the Women's Initiative Network.

Advocate of the Year Honorees
Since 1995 KCSDV has recognized outstanding advocates employed by one of the 30 KCSDV member programs across Kansas. The award is named after its first recipient, Juliene Maska, a longtime advocate for victims' rights in Kansas who now oversees the Kansas Governor's Grants Program, which administers the federal and state funding addressing sexual and domestic violence.

Lisa O'Dell-Davis is the director Catholic Charities Harbor House, a KCSDV member program in Wichita. She also serves as chairwoman of the Wichita/Sedgwick County Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault Coalition. Her fellow Coalition member, Kathy Williams, nominated her. O'Dell-Davis was recognized for her work mobilizing the Coalition to broaden its focus to include sexual violence and to seek an organizational structure that would allow it to advocate for victim safety and perpetrator accountability.

Laura Patzner is the executive director of Family Crisis Center, a KCSDV member program located in Great Bend. She has worked at the Center for more than 17 years. The staff who nominated Patzner described her as a tireless and dedicated advocate who has pitched in when the agency needed it, especially when the agency was transitioning between directors. She recently became the Center's executive director.

Project of the Year Honoree
Advocates for Sexual Assault Prevention (ASAP) received the Project of the Year award, an honor given to an innovative project of one of KCSDV's member programs. ASAP is a project of SAFEHOME of Overland Park. Allison Basinger, the education and prevention advocate who staffs the project, accepted the award. ASAP is a community-based prevention coalition that recently conducted a needs assessment of sexual assault and dating violence in Johnson County and plans to educate coaches, parent-teacher groups and fathers' groups in 2008.

Ally of the Year Honorees
KCSDV also recognizes outstanding community members who work to address sexual and domestic violence and dedicate their own time to the cause. This year the Coalition honored five individuals and/or agencies across the state with the ally of the year award. They are Shirley Adams; Wendy Blank; Tim O'Donnell; Joyce Vancrum; and the Women's Initiative Network.

For more than 20 years Shirley Adams has been a board member of the Northwest Kansas Domestic & Sexual Violence Services, a KCSDV member program in Hays. When the organization has asked for her help, she automatically replies, "Yes. What can I do?" She was pivotal in finding a new shelter for the organization when it became clear that remodeling the current shelter would not be cost effective. The staff of the program nominated Adams.

Dr. Wendy Blank is doctor at the student health center on the campus of Kansas State University. She was nominated by Judy Davis, executive director of the Crisis Center, Inc., a KCSDV member program in Manhattan. Blank was recognized for her leadership in helping establish the city's sexual assault nurse examiner/sexual assault response team program, her longtime dedication to addressing violence against women, and her commitment to providing expertise during the Crisis Center's volunteer trainings.

Tim O'Donnell is a major account executive at CareerBuilder.com and an accomplished triathlon runner who completed the Ironman Florida competition in November as a fundraiser on behalf victims of domestic violence. He became involved in the issue after supporting his sister when she realized she was a victim of domestic violence. O'Donnell was nominated by Kit Lambertz, program director of StepStone, a KCSDV member program in Wichita.

Picture of Tim O'Donnell and guests
Tim O'Donnell, a recipient of the Ally of the Year award, is joined by his family (from left to right): his dad Pat, mom Linda, sister Trish, and family friend Kit Lambertz, who nominated Tim for the award.

Picture of Lisa O'Dell-Davis
Lisa O'Dell-Davis, Wichita, receives the Juliene Maska Advocate of the Year award.

Picture of Laura Patzner
Laura Patzner, Great Bend, receives the Juliene Maska Advocate of the Year award.

Picture of Shirley Adams
Shirley Adams, Hays, receives the Ally of the Year award.

Picture of Dr. Wendy BlankDr. Wendy Blank,Manhattan, a doctor at Kansas State University's student health center, receives the Ally of the Year award.

Picture of Kelley Rogers-GrahamKelley Rogers-Graham, executive director of the Women's Initiative Network, accepts the Ally of the Year award on its behalf.

Joyce Vancrum is a counselor in private practice in Johnson County. She was nominated by Sharon Katz, executive director of SAFEHOME, a KCSDV member programs located in Overland Park. Vancrum was recognized for her leadership during SAFEHOME's major fundraiser, her six years of service on the board of directors including terms as president and vice president, and her time volunteering at the shelter.

Picture of Safehome members
Joyce Vancrum (second from the right) receives the Ally of the Year award. Advocates for Sexual Assault Prevention, a project of SAFEHOME, receives the Project of the Year award. Accepting on its behalf was Allison Basinger (second from left), education and prevention advocate. Also pictured are Janee' Hanzlick (far left) and Sharon Katz (far right) of SAFEHOME.

The Women's Initiative Network (WIN) is a non-profit agency located in Wichita. that was recognized for its work providing assistance to women transitioning from domestic violence and/or homelessness. WIN provides a safe and supportive environment where women gain job training skills, set educational and financial goals, and receive emotional support and assistance to obtain full-time employment. It was nominated by Lisa O'Dell-Davis, director of Catholic Charities Harbor House in Wichita.

Join the Conversation

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, and YouTube!
KCSDV on Facebook KCSDV on Twitter KCSDV on Instagram KCSDV on Linkedin KCSDV on Youtube  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Find an event in your community

Click below for information on our upcoming events!

Learn more

Get Training Information and News

Receive KCSDV training notifications and news.


Donate Now

Your donation will provide long-term support for KCSDV.

Donate now