KCSDV Awards 2018 Statewide Honors

Lucca Wang, Communications Coordinator, Media Contact
Office: 785-232-9784 Extension 335 | Mobile: 785-633-6648

KCSDV on Facebook KCSDV on Twitter KCSDV on Instagram KCSDV on Linkedin KCSDV on Youtube

KCSDV Awards 2018 Statewide Honors

TOPEKA, Kan. – On Tuesday, the Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence (KCSDV) held the 15th Annual Statewide Awards Ceremony and Luncheon in Topeka. The annual awards recognize outstanding advocates, partners, and projects of sexual and domestic violence work that enhance victim safety, increase perpetrator accountability and work to end or prevent sexual and domestic violence, stalking and dating violence in Kansas.

Picture of KCSDV Statewide Awards Luncheon Kathy Ray KCSDV & Marlou Wegener BCBS Foundation

Awards include:

Juliene Maska Advocate of the Year: Jan Jones

During her 15 years at Safehope, Inc. in Newton, Kansas, Executive Director Jan Jones grew the organization’s coverage and staff from a single county with three staff members to three counties with 25 staff. She volunteered on the state’s accreditation committee and now serves on KCSDV’s Board of Directors as a representative of coalition member programs.

Juliene Maska Advocate of the Year: Vicky Polen

Around 2006, Safehouse Crisis Center, Inc.’s Victims Advocate Vicky Polen started a support group in Pittsburg, Kansas that is now a weekly staple and catalyzed other support groups in the area. For 12 years, she has worked with countless community partners and professionals for victims. She has trained law enforcement in Linn and surrounding counties.

Volunteer of the Year: Dr. Jayashree George

Since 2014, Dr. George has volunteered her talents and skills to help people heal from sexual and domestic violence through SOS Inc.’s support groups for victims and survivors in Emporia, Kansas.

Project of the Year: Wyandotte County Sexual Assault Prevention Coalition

The Wyandotte County Sexual Assault Prevention Coalition is a community-based network comprised of the local health department, school district, law enforcement agencies, mayor’s office, colleges, neighborhood associations, community health council, and faith-based organizations working to end sexual violence through prevention.

KCSDV Statewide Awards Luncheon Mark Dupree and Ladora Lattimore

Community-Based Ally of the Year: Mark DuPree

Wyandotte County District Attorney Mark Dupree recognized the need for his office to have specialized training and services, ensuring victims receive trauma-informed responses. His efforts have helped foster increased collaboration with victims and witnesses in sexual and domestic violence cases, leading to successful prosecution.

State-level Ally of the Year: Dennis Butler

For over 14 years, Ottawa Police Department Chief of Police Dennis Butler has been involved in statewide projects, including the Kansas Bureau of Investigation’s Kansas Sexual Assault Kit Initiative working group, the Kansas Governor’s training advisory council’s law enforcement subcommittee, and the Kansas Attorney General’s Batterers Intervention Advisory Board, among others.

Other awards presented at the Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center honored those reaching significant years of service milestones in their careers in sexual and domestic violence work.

Marlou Wegener, Foundation Manager of Blue Cross Blue Shield of Kansas (BCBSKS), presented the awards. BCBSKS and Westar Energy Foundation were sponsors of KCSDV’s annual training on prevention held on Monday, February 5 and Tuesday, Feb. 6. The awards luncheon was held in conjunction with KCSDV’s other events this week in Topeka.

For more information, please visit KCSDV’s website at https://kcsdv.org/kcsdvmedia.



The Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence (KCSDV) is Kansas’ leading statewide voice for victims and survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault. KCSDV works with 27 coalition members and with partners and advocates across the state of Kansas to prevent and eliminate domestic violence, sexual assault, dating violence and stalking. Find more information, visit KCSDV’s website at https://www.kcsdv.org. Contact KCSDV by email at coalition@kcsdv.org and by phone at 785-232-9784.
The 24-hour Kansas Crisis Hotline is 888-END-ABUSE (888-363-2287).

Updated: 2/14/2018


Last Updated on Jan 21, 2019