New Kansas Laws Help Victims

In 2020, the legislature passed several bills that will be beneficial to Kansas survivors.

Senate Bill 60 removes the spousal exception from the crime of sexual battery. Now spouses can be charged with sexual battery, just like every other perpetrator. SB60 prohibits courts from requiring psychiatric or psychological examinations of alleged victims of any crime. The bill was introduced last year and only focused on victims of sexual violence but was reintroduced this year to include all victims of crime. Lastly, SB60 creates the felony crime of sexual extortion. This new crime of sexual extortion is threatening to injure a person or their property to induce them into engaging in sexual contact or provide them with images of a sexual nature.

HB 2008 addressed the epidemic of missing and murdered indigenous women and girls in this country. The bill requires the attorney general to coordinate training for law enforcement agencies on this important issue.

HB 2071 increased the penalties for stalking a minor when the victim is under the age of 14.

HB 2114 expanded the definition of financial abuse and exploitation and expanded mandatory reporting requirements to include firefighters and all school personnel.

HB 2079 moved administration of the address confidentiality program (Safe at Home) from the Secretary of State’s office to the Attorney General’s office.

HB 2077 expanded the coverage available to survivors of violent through the Crime Victims Compensation Board. Victims of sexual assault may now file for mental health counseling up to 10 years from the date of the crime or within 10 years of the date the victim turns 18. This requires a finding of good cause. This bill also eliminated the reporting requirement for human trafficking victims under the age of 18.

The Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence (KCSDV)’s mission is to prevent and eliminate sexual and domestic violence. Find more information on KCSDV’s website at

The 24-hour Kansas Crisis Hotline is 888-END-ABUSE (888-363-2287).


Last Updated on Nov 8, 2021