KCSDV Honors Wichita Businesswoman with its Outstanding Ally Award

Statewide advocacy group honors local volunteer with its Outstanding Ally Award.

Wichita, Kan. – A Wichita businesswoman has been recognized by a statewide advocacy organization for her volunteer work in the area of domestic violence.

Anita Oberwortmann has received the Juliene Maska Outstanding Ally Award by the Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence (KCSDV).

KCSDV recognized Oberwortmann at its gala on Thursday in Topeka.

“We honor Anita for her dedicated and tireless work on behalf of victims of domestic violence,” said Sandy Barnett, executive director of KCSDV. “This award is purposely given in recognition of efforts that often go unrecognized in our communities, but are important nonetheless.”

Anita was nominated by Kit Lambertz, program director of StepStone, a KCSDV member program located in Wichita. Anita frequently hosts lunches and speaks to business groups about the impact of domestic violence in the workplace. She also insists that supervisors at her companies attend domestic violence training. Anita also serves as Chairwoman of the StepStone Corporate Partners Program.

“Anita’s efforts have brought not only financial support to StepStone, but also a greater community understanding of the impact of domestic violence,” Lambertz said. “We at StepStone are extremely grateful to have Anita on our team.”

Since 1995 KCSDV has recognized one outstanding advocate and ally each year. The award is named after its first recipient, Juliene Maska, a longtime advocate for victims’ rights in Kansas.

KCSDV is a membership organization made up of 30 sexual and domestic violence advocacy programs in Kansas. These programs provide direct services to victims of sexual and domestic violence. StepStone is a member of KCSDV located in Wichita and provides transitional housing services to victims of domestic violence.

Pat O’Donnell, Stepstone (Wichita) 316.689.4061
Laurie Harrison, KCSDV (Topeka) 785.232.9784


Last Updated on Sep 8, 2018