Innovative Work in Kansas to Prevent and End Sexual and Domestic Violence Honored

TOPEKA, Kan. – On Wednesday, July 31, innovative and exceptional work to prevent and end sexual and domestic violence in Kansas was recognized at the 16th Annual Awards Ceremony Luncheon hosted by the Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence (KCSDV) in Lawrence.

  • Project of the Year: SOS Strong, a program of SOS, Inc. in Emporia
  • State-Level Ally of the Year: Kansas Bureau of Investigation’s Kansas Sexual Assault Kit Initiative
  • Juliene Maska Advocate of the Year: Teresa Oliver, SOS, Inc.’s Osage County Advocate
  • State-Level Elected Official Ally of the Year: Governor Laura Kelly

Over 160 people from across Kansas and eight states were present for the awards ceremony, which took place on the second day of the 3rd Biennial Kansas Conference for Ending Sexual and Domestic Violence.

KCSDV’s Executive Director Joyce Grover presented service awards to three retiring KCSDV Board of Directors members for their time and work serving on KCSDV’s Board:

  • Mark Schreiber for 10 years
  • Elizabeth Miller for 9 years
  • Natalie Haag for 9 years

Marlou Wegener, Manager of Community Relations for Blue Cross Blue Shield of Kansas (BCBSKS), presented the statewide awards. BCBSKS, the Westar Energy Foundation, and Federal Home Loan Bank of Topeka sponsored the awards ceremony and conference.

The awards ceremony and conference were held at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Lawrence.

Find more information about the awards on KCSDV’s website at



The Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence (KCSDV)’s mission is to prevent and eliminate sexual and domestic violence. Find more information on KCSDV’s website at

The 24-hour Kansas Crisis Hotline is 888-END-ABUSE (888-363-2287).



Last Updated on Aug 6, 2019